Press Kit for Media

Click Below for a PDF version of A Magical Dressmaking Mystery Series Press Kit and the Bare-Naked Lola Press Kit and Sell Sheet

 

Magical Dressmaking Mystery Press Kit

Bare-Naked Lola Press Kit

Bare-Naked Lola Sell Sheet

Press Kit

Overview

  • About the Author
  • About the Books
  • Target audience
  • Reviews and Praise
  • Virtual Book Tour
  • Virtual Book Tour Dates
  • Ad Placement
  • Contests and Giveaways
  • Signings
  • General Promotion
  • Other Books by Melissa Bourbon
  • Connect with Melissa

 

 Misa’s 300dpi color photo Stone Wall Background (2012)

 

 

About the Author

Melissa Bourbon, who sometimes answers to her Latina-by-marriage name Misa Ramirez, is a middle school teacher by day, and a writer by night. She lives lives in an inspiring century old house in North Texas and loves being surrounded by real-life history.  She fantasizes about spending summers writing in quaint, cozy locales, has a love/hate relationship with yoga and chocolate, is devoted to her family, and can’t believe she’s lucky enough to be living the life of her dreams.

She is the author of the Lola Cruz Mystery series, A Magical Dressmaking Mystery series, and the upcoming Bread Shop Mystery Series.  She also has written two romantic suspense novels, a light paranormal romance, and is the co-author of The Tricked-out Toolbox, a practical marketing guide for authors.

About the Books

 

Bare-Naked Lola

Genre: Mystery with Romantic Elements

Print ISBN: 978-1620610046

Release Date: May 15, 2012

Going undercover is second nature for Private Investigator Lola Cruz, but she’s out of her league when the case of a murdered Royals Courtside Dancer leads her to a local nudist resort. Parading around the sidelines of Sacramento’s professional basketball scene in a barely-there cheerleading outfit is one thing—but parading around in nothing but a smile? If she has any chance of hiding this from her traditional family and on-again/off-again boyfriend Jack, she’s going to have a lot more than her duct tape bra and killer dance moves to keep under wraps……

A Fitting End, book 2

Genre: Cozy Mystery

Print ISBN: 978-0451236142

Release Date: February 7, 2012

 

Business is booming at Harlow Jane Cassidy’s custom dressmaking boutique-even with her great-grandmother’s ghost hanging around the shop. But when a local golf pro is found stabbed with dressmaking shears, the new town deputy suspects Harlow. Now she has to clear her name before the next outfit she designs is a prison jumpsuit…

 

 

Pleating for Mercy, book 1

Genre: Cozy Mystery

ISBN: 978-0451234360

Release Date: August 2011

When her great-grandmother passes away, Harlow Jean Cassidy leaves her job as a Manhattan fashion designer and moves back to Bliss, Texas. But when she opens a dressmaking boutique in the turn-of-the-century farmhouse she inherited, Harlow senses an inexplicable presence”. Her old friend Josie orders a gown for her upcoming wedding, but when Josie’s boss turns up dead, Harlow has to find the killer-with a little help from beyond.

 

 

 

Target Audiences

  • Mystery Readers, Cozy Mystery Readers, Women’s Fiction,
  • Women who love sewing, fabric, crafts, notions
  • Fans of Kate Collins, Maggie Sefton, Jennie Bentley, Jenn Mckinlay

 

 

Reviews and Praise

Click here for more praise about the Lola Cruz Mystery Series and Bare-Naked Lola

“Ay Caramba! Lola’s back, and hotter than ever, whether strutting her stuff as a courtside dancer or crashing a party at a nudist resort. Between the well-crafted mystery and the sizzling romance, BARE-NAKED LOLA is a great read… and muy caliente!” ~Jennie Bentley, NY Times bestselling author

“Smart, sassy, and a bundle of fun!  Lola is the spicy, Latina answer to Stephanie Plum – full of laughs, heart, and the kind of endearing women you can’t help rooting for.  Fans of the humorous mystery genre will be cheering in their seats over Melissa Bourbon Ramirez’s latest Lola Cruz mystery.” ~ Gemma Halliday, NY Times bestselling author

“Bare-Naked Lola reveals just how saucy, funny, sizzling and brave P.I. Lola Cruz can be. She is one hot mamacita, and this book is not to be missed! Loved every page of Bare-Naked Lola!” ~ Bestselling author Heather Webber

 

 

Click here for more praise for A Magical Dressmaking Mystery Series

“This series debut by Bourbon has a clever premise, lots of interesting trade secrets, snappy dialog, and the requisite quirky and loveable family.  It’s very Texas…a fun read with plenty of potential.” ~Library Journal

“A crime-solving ghost and magical charms from the past make PLEATING FOR MERCY a sure winner!  The Cassidy women are naturally drawn to mystery and mischief.  You’ll love meeting them! ” ~NYT Bestselling Author Maggie Sefton

“A seamless blend of mystery, magic, and dress-making, with a cast of masterfully tailored characters you’ll want to visit again and again.”  ~Nationally Bestselling Author, Jennie Bentley

“A fun read, and the historical tie-in with Butch Cassidy was a kick.  Harlow’s character [is] compelling and relatable as a down-to-earth designer and seamstress.”  ~Fresh Fiction

“Enchanting! Prepare to be spellbound from page one by this well-written and deftly-plotted cozy. It’s charming, clever and completely captivating!  Fantasy, fashion and a foul play—all sewn together by a wise and witty heroine you’ll instantly want as a best friend.  Loved it!”~Hank Phillippi Ryan  Agatha, Anthony and Macavity winning author

“Cozy couture!  Harlow Jane Cassidy is a tailor-made amateur sleuth.  Bourbon stitches together a seamless mystery, adorned with magic, whimsy, and small-town Texas charm.” ~Wendy Lyn Watson, Author of NAL’s Mystery a la Mode series

“A who done it that will keep you guessing the whole time.” ~PatternReview.com

“[Pleating for Mercy is a] captivating and a very enjoyable read. Ms. Ramirez does an excellent job of weaving together a murder-mystery with our favorite hobby/obsession — sewing! There are varied characters you’ll get to know through the author’s wonderfully detailed descriptions and you’ll still be trying to guess “whodunit” by the last few pages when the mystery is finally solved. As the story unfolds, there’s a little love interest for Harlow, some spiritual magic, lots of sewing, and even a number of cultural references only real stitchers will get.

This is fun read, perfect for vacation or, if you’re like me, holed up on your bed turning the pages at 2 AM to find out what happens. I’m looking forward to the next installment in this new series.” ~Stitches and Seams

Virtual Book Tour

  • ARCs sent to cozy mystery book sites, as well as high traffic sewing sites for review.
  • Targeted “blog guest stops” at high traffic book review and reader blogs/websites over the release month, focusing on cozy mystery and sewing sites, plus promotion on Books on the House, and on various social media (Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr).

 

Ad Placement

 

  • Publisher paid online Leader board advertising on SewDaily.com during the month of February.
  • Sidebar advertising on Sew What’s New, a sewing forum site.
  • Other strategic web advertising on prominent reader websites and book sites; banner ad at Books on the House leading up to and beyond release date.
  • Continual ad on Goodreads

 

 

Giveaways and Contests

Giveaways at Goodreads, as well as new reader contests promoted via social media and Melissa’s website.

 

 

 

General Promotion

 

  • Press release information to regional and big city newspapers as well as alternative news weeklies in targeted launch DMAs.
  • Press release information to local television media with emphasis on morning shows.
  • Strategic book signings at local big and indie bookstores.
  • Featured on publisher Crime Scene Facebook fan page:   (http://www.facebook.com/TheCrimeSceneBooks)

 

Signings

Please visit Melissa’s Events Calendar for to stay up to date on appearances

 

Book Pages on Melissa’s Website


Bare-Naked Lola

A Fitting End

Pleating for Mercy

Other Books by Melissa Bourbon / Misa Ramirez


Living the Vida Lola

Hasta la Vista, Lola!


Connect with Melissa


Website: http://melissabourbon.com

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1911502.Misa_Ramirez_Melissa_Bourbon

Twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/melissabourbon

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorMelissaBourbon.MisaRamirez